The Navajo Nation Primary Drinking Water Regulations (NNPDWR) was formally adopted by the Resources Committee of the
Navajo Nation Council, Navajo EPA’s legislative oversight.

200—Maximum Contaminant Level
300—Sanitary Surveys
400—Sampling and Analytical Requirements
500—Reporting and Recordkeeping
600—Public Notification
700—Lead and Copper
800—Surface Water Treatment
900—Use of Non-Centralized Treatment Devices
1000—Treatment Techniques
1100—Disinfectant, Disinfection By-Products (DDBP)
1200—Consumer Confidence Report (CCR)
1300—Enhanced Surface Water
1400—Operator Certification (OpCert)
1500—Minimum Design Regulations
1600—Construction Permits
1700—Wellhead Protection Regulations
1800—Secondary Drinking Water Standards
1900—Consecutive Public Water Systems
2000—Cross-Connection and Backflow Prevention
2100—Enhanced Filtration and Disinfection (LT1)
2200—Initial Distribution System Evaluation
2300—Stage 2 Disinfection By-Products
2400—Enhanced Treatment with Cryptosporidium (LT2)

NNPDWR Appendices  
The Great Seal of the Navajo Nation was designed by Mr. John Claw, Jr., of Many Farms, Arizona,
and was officially adopted by the Navajo Tribal Council on January 18, 1952, by resolution CJ-9-52.

The Great Seal had forty eight projectile points or arrowheads symbolizing the Navajo Nations
protection within the forty eight states (as of 1952). Since then, two points have been added to
represent the entire fifty states of the United States. The opening at the top of the three concentric
lines is considered the East. The lines represent the rainbow and sovereignty of the Navajo Nation.
The rainbow never closes on the Nation's sovereignty. The outside line is red, the middle line is yellow
and the inside line, blue. The yellow sun shines from the east on the four sacred mountains,
Sisnaajinii, Tsoodzil, Dook'o'oslííd, and Dibé Ntsaa. Yoolgaii, Dootl'izhii, Diichili, and Baashzhinii are
the sacred mountain ceremonial stones.

Two cornstalks with pollen symbolizes the sustainer of Navajo life. A horse, cow, and sheep, located in
the center, symbolizes the Navajo livestock.
Navajo Nation Primary Drinking Water Regulations
Navajo Nation Environmental Protection Agency • Public Water Systems Supervision Program

The copper color outlines the present reservation, with the original Treaty of 1868
rainbow, symbolizing sovereignty arches over the Navajo Nation. In the center of the
reservation, a circular symbol depicts the sun above two green stalks of corn an oil
derrick symbolizing the resource potential of the Nation, and above this are modern
sawmill symbolizes the progress and industry currently characteristic of the Nation's